[adinserter block="4"]

A1GP: new race schedule published with finale in UK


The A1GP World Cup of Motorsport series has published its 2008/09 race schedule – and the season finale is due once again to be held in the UK, at a venue still to be announced.

Since every British A1GP race held so far has been at Brands Hatch, the Kent venue is once again the frontrunner to host it. However testing regularly takes place at Silverstone and will again this year.


This year, following a partnership with Ferrari to develop a new car, the season opener will be at the Mugello circuit near Florence in Italy. It has also been the venue for early testing of the car.

A1GP staples such as Zandvoort in The Netherlands, Taupo in New Zealand and Mexico City, Mexico remain on the calendar – but races in Brno, in the Czech Republic, Eastern Creek, Australia, and one of the two Chinese fixtures have been axed.

New venues include The Algarve, Portugal, and Jakarta, Indonesia, in addition to Mugello. It is not yet known whether Shanghai or Zhuhai will host the Chinese round, but the series organisers promise an announcement shortly.

And the calendar still contains a completely vacant slot – round nine, set for March 29, 2009, when the teams will have left Mexico City behind and be on their way back to Europe for the Portugese stage.

Two tests have also been announced with the first at Silverstone in Great Britain on Monday August 18 – Wednesday August 20.

The organisers say the Silverstone test has “quickly become a traditional part of the A1GP off-season and is also a chance for teams to try out potential new drivers for the coming season.”

The second test will take place in Mugello, Italy on Wednesday September 17 – Thursday September 18 immediately before the opening race.

The organisers point out that the 2008/09 calendar is still subject to FIA approval.

2008/09 race schedule

  1. Mugello, Italy – 21/09/08
  2. Zandvoort, Netherlands 05/10/08
  3. Jakarta, Indonesia – 09/11/08
  4. Sepang, Malaysia – 23/11/08
  5. TBA, China – 14/12/08
  6. Taupo, NZ – 25/01/09
  7. TBA, South Africa – 22/02/09
  8. Mexico City, Mexico – 15/03/09
  9. TBA – 29/03/09
  10. Algarve, Portugal – 12/04/09
  11. TBA, UK – 03/05/09


[adinserter block="2"]

[adinserter block="5"]

[adinserter block="1"]