[adinserter block="4"]

F3: Disappointment for Turvey in season clincher

Oliver Turvey has failed to clinch the British F3 International Series championship after his final outing saw him parked up at trackside three laps from the end.

In the ultimate round, held at Donington Park last weekend, the Carlin Motorsport driver started from 14th on the grid but slipped back to 20th on the opening lap.


He spent a dogged race climbing through the field to a high spot of eighth before a challenge to Fortec Motorsport’s Marcus Eriksson saw him spin at Starkey’s Bridge.

That left the way clear for 18-year-old Spaniard Jaime Alguersuari, Turvey’s team-mate at Carlin, to take the title. Turvey ended his season in the second-place spot.

Alguersuari took his third win in a row and is the first Spanish driver and also the youngest man ever to become British F3 International Series Champion. He is also the first rookie driver to win the series since Antonio Pizzonia in 2000.

He started the race second on the grid but rapidly overtook polesitter Oli Oakes at the start before leading all the way to the chequered flag.

The second-placed Nick Tandy took his best finish of the year to secure ninth spot in the series rankings and to take the DPRAC Raymond Mays Memorial Salver as the best British driver at the Donington Park weekend.

Team boss Trevor Carlin said: “2008 has been the most amazing season for the team. To have so many talented, quick drivers has been fantastic and the way in which the team and all the drivers have worked together has contributed to today’s successes.

“Both Martin [Stone] and I would like to thank every team member for the contribution they have made. All three drivers would have been worthy winners, and having seen them all work so hard it’s difficult to see Oliver and Brendon [Hartley] disappointed to not win the championship.

“But, after a close and intense battle, Jaime was a deserving champion after driving flawlessly this weekend.”

* The championship’s National Class was won by Fluid Motorsport’s Jay Bridger with last year’s McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Stefan Wilson in fourth place.

For the full championship results, click here >>


[adinserter block="2"]

[adinserter block="5"]

[adinserter block="1"]