[adinserter block="4"]

F1: Montreal practice sees close fight between top teams

Sebastian Vettel has re-written the script for this weekend by topping timesheets at the second Formula One practice session at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal.

Behind him was Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, getting himself up to second on a weekend when Ferrari were thought to have dropped back as far as sixth among the teams and McLaren or Mercedes GP to be the dominant players.

In a session in which dark clouds loomed over the circuit, several teams experienced extreme tyre wear and vastly slower lap times when switching to the softer compound – a development that could have big ramifications for race strategy on Sunday.

Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg was third-placed on the unofficial timesheets while Vettel’s team-mate Mark Webber was fourth in a relatively incident-free session that, like the morning one that preceded it, saw absolutely no show-stopping encounters with the famous ‘Wall of Champions’.

Fifth was Alonso’s team-mate Felipe Massa, with Force India’s Adrian Sutil in sixth, McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton in seventh and Renault’s Robert Kubica in eighth. Hamilton had topped the first session by holding off a late-charging Michael Schumacher for Mercedes GP.

Instead the seven-time world champion came a subdued ninth with Sutil’s team-mate Vitantonio Liuzzi occupying the last top-ten slot. Hamilton’s team-mate Jenson Button, complaining of tyre graining, could do no better than 11th.

Reliability problems flummoxed Lotus’ Jarno Trulli once again, leaving him needing a gearbox change, and he only made it out on track for the final moments of the session.

In the first session, drivers were initally cautious on a dirty surface that hogged the headlines the last time the F1 circus was in town and a wide variety of people took off-track excursions at various points around the circuit.

Button kept himself ahead of Schumacher with a fastest time of 1:18.127 – 0.158 seconds ahead of the man who replaced him at his former team. Hamilton was third, a little more than two tenths of a second behind his team-mate following a late charge by the Mercedes driver.

Rosberg was fourth ahead of Vettel in fifth with Kubica sixth and and Alonso seventh. He was run close by Liuzzi in eighth while Williams team-mates Nico Hulkenberg and Rubens Barrichello rounded out the top 10.

Webber was 14th-fastest while Virgin’s Lucas di Grassi spent much of the session in the garage after stopping out on track.

Practice two times

  1. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull: 1:16.877
  2. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari: 1:16.963
  3. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes: 1:17.151
  4. Mark Webber, Red Bull: 1:17.273
  5. Felipe Massa, Ferrari: 1:17.401
  6. Adrian Sutil, Force India: 1:17.415
  7. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren: 1:17.522
  8. Robert Kubica, Renault: 1:17.529
  9. Michael Schumacher, Mercedes: 1:17.688
  10. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India: 1:17.903
  11. Jenson Button, McLaren: 1:17.961
  12. Rubens Barrichello, Williams: 1:18.385
  13. Nico Hulkenberg, Williams: 1:18.447
  14. Vitaly Petrov, Renault: 1:18.582
  15. Pedro de la Rosa, BMW Sauber: 1:18.658
  16. Kamui Kobayashi, BMW Sauber: 1:19.142
  17. Sebastien Buemi: Toro Rosso: 1:19.168
  18. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso: 1:19.274
  19. Heikki Kovalainen, Lotus: 1:19.969
  20. Karun Chandhok, HRT: 1:20.879
  21. Bruno Senna, HRT: 1:21.097
  22. Jarno Trulli, Lotus: 1:21.346
  23. Timo Glock, Virgin: 1:21.488
  24. Lucas di Grassi, Virgin: 1:21.577

Practice one times

  1. Jenson Button, McLaren: 1:18.127
  2. Michael Schumacher, Mercedes GP: 1:18.285
  3. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren: 1:18.352
  4. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes GP: 1:18.356
  5. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull: 1:18.549
  6. Robert Kubica, Renault: 1:18.662
  7. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari: 1:18.726
  8. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India: 1:19.097
  9. Nico Hulkenberg, Williams: 1:19.282
  10. Rubens Barrichello, Williams: 1:19.313
  11. Adrian Sutil, Force India: 1:19.373
  12. Felipe Massa, Ferrari: 1:19.511
  13. Vitaly Petrov, Renault: 1:19.549
  14. Mark Webber, Red Bull: 1:19.609
  15. Kamui Kobayashi, BMW Sauber: 1:20.186
  16. Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso: 1:20.320
  17. Pedro de la Rosa, BMW Sauber: 1:20.584
  18. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso: 1:20.823
  19. Heikki Kovalainen, Lotus-Cosworth: 1:21.869
  20. Karun Chandhok, Hispania: 1:21.977
  21. Jarno Trulli, Lotus: 1:22.543
  22. Bruno Senna, Hispania: 1:22.701
  23. Timo Glock, Virgin: 1:22.713
  24. Lucas di Grassi, Virgin: no time


[adinserter block="2"]

[adinserter block="5"]

[adinserter block="1"]