[adinserter block="4"]

Brawn GP’s fabulous year wins it two honours list entries

Ross Brawn and Jenson Button have both received awards in the 2009 New Year’s Honours list after their team’s fairytale season saw it become the first ever to win a double championship in its initial year of competition.

Brawn has been appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) while Button, in line with Lewis Hamilton last year, has been appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE).


Both of the awards have been presented for services to motorsport.

29-year-old Button described the honour, which had been widely reported in advance of the official announcement, as the “crowning glory of the most incredible year of my life.”

He continued: “To be recognised by the Queen and the British people is a tremendous honour. Everybody at Brawn played their part, it was down to their expertise, dedication and hard work that we were able to achieve so much.

“We literally started with nothing, but had the belief, determination and passion to take on the world and succeed.

“Many people played a role in my world championship – and in receiving this award, I want to acknowledge and thank them for all their efforts.”

He added that he was extremely proud to have followed in the footsteps of his predecessors as British champions, a list comprised of Mike Hawthorn, Graham Hill, Jim Clark, John Surtees, Sir Jackie Stewart, James Hunt, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill and Lewis Hamilton.

“The past 12 months have provided me with such an exhilarating journey. For 2010, I am starting another exciting chapter in my career. I’m ready looking forward to representing Great Britain on the world’s sporting stage and successfully defending my world championship.”

Brawn, 55, had already scored a string of successes for Benetton and Ferrari before moving to Honda when the abrupt pull-out of that manufacturer left him and CEO Nick Fry fighting to preserve the jobs of around 600 Northamptonshire workers.

He said: “I am surprised and delighted to have been chosen to receive the award of an OBE in the New Years Honours List.

“Receiving this award is a great personal honour for me however it is only through the dedication and commitment of the many talented people I have worked with and the unstinting support of my family which have led to this award.

“I am very grateful to everyone involved and pleased that the achievements of everyone at the Brawn GP Formula One Team in particular have been recognised in this way.”

Sports stars featured heavily in this year’s honours list, with former Scotland rugby international and current British Lions coach Ian McGeechan being knighted.

Also on the list were former England football captain Jimmy Armfield, gymnast Beth Tweddle, Blackburn Rovers striker Jason Roberts, cricketer Claire Taylor, Arsenal Ladies Football Club founder Vic Akers, former England cricketer John Jameson, former triple-jumper and disability sports official Christopher Cohen, marathon canoeist Anna Hemmings, golfer Catriona Matthew and Derby County club official Gordon Guthrie.

Several appointments were made in recognition of contributions to disability sport, and they included David Butler, the chairman of the British Motorsports Association for the Disabled, appointed MBE.


[adinserter block="2"]

[adinserter block="5"]

[adinserter block="1"]