Archive for the ‘IndyCar Series’ Category

7 Apr 2008: IndyCar: form book upset in wet St Petersburg

The smart money was always on Newman/Haas/Lanigan being the quickest of the ex-Champ Car teams to adapt to life in IndyCar – but even the most optimistic fan might have been stretched to predict a victory in only their second race.

30 Mar 2008: IRL: Dixon wins first race in new era

Dan Wheldon’s hopes of charging from the back of the field to take a fourth consecutive season-opening win at Homestead-Miami Speedway were dashed by team-mate Scott Dixon.

13 Mar 2008: IRL: no Minardi in 2008, says Stoddart

Plain-speaking Aussie businessman Paul Stoddart says he won’t be moving his Minardi Champ Car team across to the IRL following the merger because he’s had enough of trolling around at the back of the field.

7 Mar 2008: Champ Car / IndyCar: what the merger means for the Brits

Seven British drivers lined up for the start of the American open wheel season last year, the final campaign to see the sport split between IndyCar and Champ Car. Now, with the first unified season on the horizon, we look at their prospects for 2008.

27 Feb 2008: Champ Car and IRL merger goes ahead

The owners of Champ Car and the Indy Racing League (IRL) have announced that they have reached an agreement for the two series to merge. And it’s IRL that seems have come out on top – the new formula will be named the Indy Racing League and the competition will be known as the IndyCar Series.

17 Jan 2008: IndyCar: Franchitti honoured in series swansong

IndyCar’s 2007 series winner Dario Franchitti has won an award celebrating his time in the sport. Franchitti, who won the 2007 Indianapolis 500 and is about to start a new career as a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver, was honoured alongside 14 other racing heroes at the American Automobile Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association annual get-together in Indianapolis.

11 Jan 2008: IndyCar: preparations afoot for 2008 season

IndyCar Series teams will test under lights each day for the second consecutive year in preparation for the season opener at the facility on March 29 when Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Dan Wheldon will be seeking his fourth consecutive circuit victory.

23 Dec 2007: Tragedy overshadows Manning signing

Darren Manning has been re-signed by AJ Foyt to drive in next year’s IndyCar season – but any celebrations have been cut short by the untimely death of the owner of his car’s main sponsor.

6 Dec 2007: F1: Hamilton pockets more silverware at Autosport Awards

The top one may have eluded him – Lewis Hamilton’s had no need to go out and buy a nice big sideboard on which to display his Drivers’ Championship silverware just yet. But still the awards keep rolling in.

28 Nov 2007: Dancing victory for Castroneves is a win for motorsport

It maybe a bit off-topic for this blog, but it would be churlish not to congratulate IndyCar driver Helio Castroneves on winning Dancing With the Stars, the US version of Britain’s Strictly Come Dancing.

  • McLaren eshop

    McLaren store

  • F1 gear (and more) at

    2012 F1 Merchandise from